February 1, 2011

UAAP Volleyball

The University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) volleyball tournament was generally held in first semester and it will then be moved to the second semester which is on December in order to give exposure to the Women's Volleyball who have gained fans in the semi-professional Shakey's V-League. There are two divisions in UAAP volleyball tournament; Junior's Division (High School Tournament for Boys and Girls and the Senior's Division (College for Men and Women.

In 1946-1958, Far Estern University (FEU) was the UAAP Volleyball Champion in Men's division. FEU Tamaraws is the varsity team of FEU in the Univeristy Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) and also one of the founding members of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) of the Philippines and UAAP in 1938 and also University of Santo Tomas, University of the Philippines and National Univeristy.

In recent years from 2004-2005 season, Jeremy Pedregoza is the most valuable player from Far Eastern University (FEU) for men division and Maureen Penetrante from De La Salle University for women division. Edjet Mabbayad from FEU also the most valuable player on 2005-06 to 2006-07 seasons for men division.

In the UAAP Season 73 volleyball tournaments opened November 27, 2010 in senior's division and hosted by De La Salle University. La Salle continued its remarkable showing in the UAAP Season 73 volleyball tournament, beating Adamson in straight sets, 25-11, 25-23, 25-14, Sunday at the Arena in San Juan City. FEU also contrived its presence felt in the men’s division as it survived La Salle in four sets, 25-22, 25-22, 24-26,25-23.


Post a Comment

You can use some HTML tags for your comment.

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More