January 29, 2011

Philippine Basketball Association (PBA)

The PBA or the Philippine Basketball Association is the men's professional basketball league in the Philippines which is composed of 10 company-branded franchised teams.

LOGO (courtesy of PBA)
The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) current teams; Air21 Express, Rain or Shine Elasto Painters, San Miguel Beermen, Alaska Aces, Barako Bull Energy Boosters, Brgy Ginebra Kings, Meralco Bolts, B-MEG Derby Ace Llamados, Powerade Tigers, Talk N Text Tropang Texter.

One constant feature in the PBA is that unlike other leagues, there is no SEASON CHAMPION, instead, the season is divided into conferences or tournaments. The winners of the conference cups do not face each other at the end of the season to determine the season, instead all conference champions are league champions. What we have also called the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Philippine Cup-in this tournament the players are all Filipino, does not allow teams to hire foreign players or imports. This is also the most prestigious tournament in a PBA season.

From 1975-2003, there were three conferences. The All-Filipino, Commissioner's and Governors Cups usually ending in a best of 7 Finals series match wherein the winner takes the Conference cup. Grand Slam - if the same team wins all the conferences. The year 2004 PBA conferences reduced from three to two and changed the start of the season from February to October so that the league can accommodate international tournaments that were frequently held from June to September. Another reason for the change in schedule was the popularity of college hoops, the NCAA and the UAAP, whose basketball season runs from June to October each year.

The second tournament is the Fiesta Conference, held from March to July, teams are allowed to field one foreign player called an "import". The Philippine Cup is identical to the All-Filipino Conference of the previous seasons. The rookie draft is now usually held every August.The PBA Conference, it was reverted back to the old three conference format (2010-2011 season).


Post a Comment

You can use some HTML tags for your comment.

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More